Turing Alternatives in 2026: Where to Hire Developers Now

Turing Alternatives in 2026: Where to Hire Developers Now
Open turing.com/hire-developers, the URL that used to sell developer hiring, and you land on a page headed "Accelerate superintelligence". The buttons say "Request dataset samples" and "Join expert network" [T1]. On 3 November 2026, /hire-developers, /services/teams and /hire-engineers all served that page, with no price, trial or matching time on it [T1].
That's an odd landing spot if you came to hire remote developers for a SaaS backlog, and it's why buyers now look for Turing alternatives. Turing's CEO, Jonathan Siddharth, objected when TechCrunch called it a pivot in March 2025, and said the original business still brings in substantial revenue [T8]. Developer hiring survives as a menu link in turing.com's Enterprise AI menu, "Hire Developers", which leads to a separate go.turing.com page: "Hire AI native engineers in days, not weeks" [T6].
So the fair claim is narrower: Turing's main site no longer leads with developer hiring [T1, T6]. Before you replace it, work out which Turing you were using.
A Turing alternative is another company that supplies remote developers for your own product work, the job turing.com's main site no longer leads with [T1, T6].
Disclosure: yousource publishes this page, sells Dev On Demand, and lists itself first. Where others are stronger: Arc's and Toptal's trials give you up to two weeks with a real person, and marketplaces suit permanent hires better than a task subscription does. Every vendor fact below comes from that vendor's own live site.
Key takeaways
- On 3 November 2026, turing.com/hire-developers, /services/teams and /hire-engineers all served Turing's "Accelerate superintelligence" AI page, with no price, trial or matching time [T1].
- Turing hasn't left developer hiring. Its CEO objected when TechCrunch called the shift a pivot [T8], and a "Hire Developers" menu link leads to a go.turing.com page offering a 2-week trial and profiles within 72 hours [T6].
- "Turing alternative" now means one of two things: forward-deployed engineers for AI work (Turing Enterprise AI, Andela) or capacity for a product backlog (marketplaces and task subscriptions) [T4, T15].
- Of seven backlog alternatives checked, four publish a price: yousource, Toptal (a $79 monthly fee), Lemon.io (from $55/hr on a hire page) and Arc [T29, T20, T37, T23]. Index.dev, Gun.io and BairesDev publish none [T26, T24, T25].
- Toptal and Arc have the strongest trials: up to two weeks with a real person (Arc's for contract hires only) [T20, T23].
What happened to Turing's developer hiring?
Turing's main site stopped leading with it. The site now sells data and experts to frontier AI labs and forward-deployed engineers to enterprises. Developer hiring survives as a "Hire Developers" menu link to a separate go.turing.com page [T3, T4, T6].
Labs get "custom and off-the-shelf datasets, RL environments, and human experts" [T3]. Enterprises get "forward-deployed engineers (FDE) and an AI control plane", starting with a "scoping conversation" [T4]. The root page, www.turing.com, is a talent page headed "Your expertise builds AI" [T5]. In April 2026 Turing launched Turing Frontier, giving AI labs "access to elite U.S. professionals" [T12].
TechCrunch reported a $111M Series E at a $2.2B valuation in March 2025, and traced the shift to 2022, when OpenAI asked Turing for help generating code for LLM training data [T7]. Turing says it hit a $300M annual revenue run-rate in 2024 and was profitable that year. Both claims are self-reported [T10]. Sacra, an analyst firm, estimates about $350M at end-2025; that is Sacra's estimate, not a company disclosure [T11].
The hiring page still exists. go.turing.com offers a 2-week trial and vetted profiles within 72 hours, but no price, and only a line about "fast role rematching" in place of a replacement policy [T6]. You'd be buying from a company whose own site now leads with something else.
"Turing alternative" now means two different things
It depends what you used Turing for.
AI work, done by engineers who sit with your team. Turing's own Enterprise AI page sells this now [T4], and Andela is the nearest match. You can still "Hire engineers trained to build modern AI systems", but only after a discovery call, with no published prices, trial or minimum term [T15]. If that's your problem, this isn't your shortlist.
Capacity for a product backlog. That's talent marketplaces (Arc, Toptal, Lemon.io) or a task subscription like yousource's Dev On Demand. The rest of this post is for you.
One warning: the vendors you'd move to are drifting the same way. Index.dev's headline is "Upgrade for AI", with a Data Annotation page in its footer menu [T26], and BairesDev shows Anthropic and OpenAI "Select Partner" badges [T25]. That makes a homepage a weak promise. Shortlist on terms a vendor has written down, because the homepage can change between your contract and your renewal.
Turing alternatives compared on what they publish
Seven turing.com alternatives for backlog work, from each vendor's site on 3 November 2026. "Not stated" means not on the pages we fetched.
| # | Vendor | Published price | Trial | Exit / notice | Replacement | IP ownership |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| – | Turing (go.turing.com page) | Not stated [T6] | 2 weeks [T6] | Not stated | Only "fast role rematching" [T6] | Not stated |
| 1 | yousource Dev On Demand | $3,495/mo single, $6,795/mo dual [T29] | One trial task [T30] | Cancel any time, no notice [T30] | Within 5 business days, no charge [T30] | Yours; IP assignment signed up front [T30] |
| 2 | Toptal | $79/mo subscription fee; talent priced weekly, no rates shown [T20, T21] | Up to 2 weeks, pay only if satisfied [T19, T20] | Subscription cancellable any time [T20] | Another expert, with a second no-risk trial [T20] | Client owns the work [T20] |
| 3 | Lemon.io | From $55/hr; typical $60–$90/hr in its docs [T37, T18] | Up to 20 hours, "no-risk" [T37] | 160-hour minimum, no minimum duration [T17, T18] | At no cost [T37] | You own it [T17] |
| 4 | Arc | $15–$110+/hr; 20% of salary for a permanent hire [T23] | Up to 2 weeks (freelance hires) [T23] | Not stated [T23] | Not stated [T23] | Not stated |
| 5 | Index.dev | Not stated [T26] | 30 days [T26] | Not stated | Within a 30-day guarantee; other conditions not stated [T26] | IP assignment as standard [T26] |
| 6 | Gun.io | Not stated [T24] | Not stated [T24] | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| 7 | BairesDev | Not stated [T25] | Not stated [T25] | Not stated [T25] | Not stated | Not stated |
Proxify and Upwork publish pricing, but blocked our fetch, so aren't scored [T27, T28]. For the full field of eleven vendors, see Lemon.io alternatives in 2026. For the cost math against hiring in-house, see the Toptal alternatives cost comparison.
1. yousource Dev On Demand
A flat monthly subscription, priced in tasks instead of hours. Single stream is "$3,495/mo" for "One task at a time from your backlog, 3-day turnaround"; Dual stream is "$6,795/mo" for two tasks in parallel [T29]. Every plan runs on a 3-day turnaround per task, and there's no hourly billing [T29].
"Cancel any time. No notice period." If the engineer is wrong, "We replace them within 5 business days at no charge." IP assignment is signed up front, with an NDA before access [T30]. On the trial: "If we're a fit, your trial task is free." [T30] The page promises a "Kickoff call within 24 hours, first delivery within 5 business days" [T31].
Where it's weaker: one trial task tells you less than Arc's or Toptal's two weeks with a person [T23, T20]. It's async with no timezone alignment [T31], so it won't put someone in your standup. Nor is it a hiring path. If you want a whole team embedded, yousource's separate Dev Team product runs "From $3,840 per engineer a month" on a three-month initial term [T32].
Best fit for: a backlog with more tickets than hands, at a monthly price you can stop any month.
2. Toptal
The strongest trial here: up to two weeks "on a trial basis (pay only if satisfied)", with up to three people tried per position [T19, T20].
Pricing is half-published. Recruiting costs "$0". A "flat monthly subscription fee of $79" applies only if you go ahead with matching, and you can cancel it "at any time" [T21, T20]. Talent is priced weekly, with no hourly rates shown [T21]. On IP: "all work created by a Toptal expert is the property of the client" [T20].
Best fit for: one person for ongoing work, test-driven first.
3. Lemon.io
Lemon.io's SaaS hire page says "from $55/hr", and its billing docs give typical rates "from $60 to $90/hr" [T37, T18]. The minimum is 160 hours per position, with "no separate minimum duration" [T17, T18]. At typical rates, that minimum block costs $9,600–$14,400 (our arithmetic on [T18]).
The trial is short: a "no-risk trial period" of real project tasks "for up to 20 hours", with a replacement at no cost if it doesn't work out [T37]. On IP: "You own all intellectual property produced for your project" [T17].
Best fit for: a contract developer for a month or more, at rates you can read before the call.
4. Arc
The clearest rate card: "$15 - $110+" an hour for contract work, a trial of up to two weeks for contract hires, and "20%" of annual salary for a permanent hire [T23]. Arc says it's "$0 until you hire", with contract hires in 72 hours and permanent ones in 14 days [T22].
On the US median software developer wage of $135,980, that 20% fee is $27,196 per hire (our arithmetic on [T23, T33]). No replacement, minimum or IP terms are stated [T23].
Best fit for: a permanent remote hire, or a contractor trialled first.
5. Index.dev
Terms, no rates. There's a 30-day trial, and replacement is listed under a 30-day guarantee, with no other conditions stated [T26]. The homepage promises "NDA and IP assignment as standard" [T26].
Best fit for: the longest trial on the list, if you can wait for a quote.
6. Gun.io
Now "The Technical Standard for High Stakes Engineering", bundling sourcing, vetting, contracts, payroll, compliance and milestone tracking [T24]. There are no prices on its site, and no trial, match time or minimum either [T24].
Best fit for: buyers who want contracts and compliance handled and don't mind a sales call.
7. BairesDev
Nearshore staff augmentation and software outsourcing, with an "AI Transformation" offer [T25]. Every price and term sits behind "Schedule a Call" [T25].
Best fit for: a larger team in US time zones, bought through a sales process.
Marketplace or task subscription: which Turing alternative fits?
It comes down to who holds the person. A marketplace finds you someone, and you manage them by the hour or as a hire; Arc's 20% fee is the honest price of that hire [T23]. A subscription sells finished tasks at a flat price, and the vendor carries the replacement.
Hiring yourself is slower. Employ's 2025 benchmark put the average time from job posting to accepted offer at 63.5 days across the five sectors in Employ's data, and software and tech had the lowest offer acceptance rate of those sectors, at 80.8% [T34].
Either way, test the same way. Take one real ticket from your backlog. Before any trial starts, ask your top two for the price, the notice period, the replacement window and the IP clause, in writing. Turing's old hire URL sells datasets now [T1]. Save a copy of your next vendor's terms page the day you sign.
Frequently asked questions
Can you still hire developers through Turing?
Yes. Turing's old hire-developers URLs land on its AI page, but a "Hire Developers" menu link leads to a go.turing.com page offering a 2-week trial and profiles within 72 hours, with no published price [T1, T6].
Did Turing pivot to AI training data?
Its main site now sells datasets, RL environments and experts to frontier labs, plus forward-deployed engineers to enterprises [T3, T4]. The analyst firm Sacra calls it a pivot [T11]. Turing's CEO objected when TechCrunch used the word, and said the original business still brings in substantial revenue [T8].
What are the best sites like Turing to hire remote developers?
For a two-week trial with a real person, Toptal, or Arc for contract hires [T20, T23]. For rates on the page, Arc or Lemon.io [T23, T18]. For a flat monthly price with no notice period, yousource Dev On Demand at $3,495 a month [T29, T30].
Is Andela a Turing alternative?
For AI work, yes. Andela sells AI-native engineers and managed AI teams, reached through a discovery call, with no published prices, trial or minimum term [T15, T16].
Sources
- [T1] Turing hire pages, fetched 3 Nov 2026: /hire-developers, /services/teams (redirects to /hire-developers) and /hire-engineers serve the page headed "Accelerate superintelligence", with calls to action "Request dataset samples" and "Join expert network"; no pricing, trial, matching time or replacement terms. — https://www.turing.com/
hire-developers and https://www.turing.com/services/ and https://turing.com/teams hire-engineers?a=0 - [T3] Turing frontier AI page: offers labs "custom and off-the-shelf datasets, RL environments, and human experts". — https://www.turing.com/
frontier-ai - [T4] Turing enterprise AI page: "Turing offers forward-deployed engineers (FDE) and an AI control plane"; engagement starts with a "scoping conversation"; no pricing. — https://www.turing.com/
enterprise-ai - [T5] turing.com root page: "Your expertise builds AI"; recruits experts for AI-training roles such as "Full Stack Code Evaluator". — https://www.turing.com/
- [T6] Turing talent landing page (undated; linked from the "Hire Developers" item in turing.com's Enterprise AI menu): "Hire AI native engineers in days, not weeks"; 2-week trial; "Get vetted profiles within 72 hours"; "4M+" engineering pool (self-reported); "fast role rematching for continuity"; no pricing. — https://go.turing.com/
turing-talent - [T7] TechCrunch, 6 Mar 2025: Turing raised a $111M Series E at a $2.2B valuation; OpenAI approached Turing in 2022 for help generating code for LLM training data. — https://techcrunch.com/
2025/ 03/ 06/ turing-a-key-coding-provider-for-openai-and-other-llm-producers-raises-111m-at-a-2-2b-valuation - [T8] TechCrunch, 6 Mar 2025 (reporter's narration, not a Siddharth quote): "But it hasn't been a pivot. Siddharth was quick to correct me when I used the word, and he pointed out that Turing still generates substantial revenue from its older business sourcing coding talent" (amount undisclosed). — https://techcrunch.com/
2025/ 03/ 06/ turing-a-key-coding-provider-for-openai-and-other-llm-producers-raises-111m-at-a-2-2b-valuation - [T10] Turing press release (undated, self-reported): Turing "achieved profitability in 2024" on "$300 million in annual revenue runrate (ARR)". — https://www.turing.com/
press/ turing-annual-revenue-runrate-nearly-triples-to-300m - [T11] Sacra (analyst estimate, not a company disclosure): annualized revenue of ~$350M at end-2025; "a pivot away from pure remote-developer staffing toward supplying human intelligence to frontier AI labs". — https://sacra.com/
c/ turing/ - [T12] Turing press release, 9 Apr 2026: Turing Frontier gives AI labs "access to elite U.S. professionals"; Siddharth: "The job of the expert is moving from doing the work to training models to do it, and then verifying that they do it well." — https://www.turing.com/
press/ turing-announces-turing-frontier - [T15] Andela homepage: "You bought the AI. We make it work."; "Hire engineers trained to build modern AI systems" via a discovery call; no prices, trial or minimum terms. — https://www.andela.com/
- [T16] Andela press release, 12 Nov 2025: names "forward-deployed engineers" as an in-demand role. — https://www.andela.com/
newsroom/ andela-expands-c-suite-to-power-growth-as-ai-native-talent-and-services-leader - [T17] Lemon.io homepage: "There are no upfront recruitment or setup fees"; minimum hours "Yes, 160 hours"; "There is no separate minimum duration"; "You own all intellectual property produced for your project"; "Matching time ~24 h" and "Acceptance rate 1.2%" (self-reported). — https://lemon.io/
- [T18] Lemon.io billing docs: typical rates "from $60 to $90/hr"; "A prepayment for one billing cycle is collected at the start of the cycle"; unused prepaid hours refunded at project end; "From 160 hours (1 position)". — https://docs.lemon.io/
billing-and-payment - [T19] Toptal homepage: "Work with your new team member on a trial basis (pay only if satisfied)"; "Average time to match is under 24 hours"; "98% trial-to-hire success rate" (self-reported). — https://www.toptal.com/
- [T20] Toptal FAQ: "flat monthly subscription fee of $79", charged only if you proceed with matching; trial "up to two weeks"; "up to three individuals from our network per position"; "all work created by a Toptal expert is the property of the client"; subscription cancellable "at any time"; replacement: "we can provide you with another expert who may be a better fit and with whom we will begin a second, no-risk trial." — https://www.toptal.com/
faq - [T21] Toptal pricing: "$0" recruiting fee; "No hidden fees"; fixed weekly price, no hourly rates published. — https://www.toptal.com/
pricing - [T22] Arc homepage: "$0 until you hire"; "Hire in 72 hours" (contract) and "Hire in 14 days" (permanent); "450,000 talent in 190 countries" (self-reported). — https://arc.dev/
- [T23] Arc pricing: "$15 - $110+" per hour; trial period of up to two weeks; trial listed under the freelance hires plan only; hire fee of "20%" of annual salary; no replacement or minimum terms stated. — https://arc.dev/
pricing - [T24] Gun.io homepage, fetched 3 Nov 2026 (gun.io/pricing redirects to it): "The Technical Standard for High Stakes Engineering"; sourcing, vetting, contracts, payroll, compliance and milestone tracking; no prices, trial, match time or minimums shown. — https://gun.io/
and https://gun.io/ pricing - [T25] BairesDev homepage: nearshore staff augmentation and software outsourcing; "AI Transformation"; Anthropic and OpenAI "Select Partner" badges; "Schedule a Call"; "4,000+ timezone-aligned" engineers (self-reported); no prices, minimums or trial terms. — https://www.bairesdev.com/
- [T26] Index.dev: headline "Upgrade for AI"; "Data Annotation" page in the footer Solutions menu; "NDA and IP assignment as standard"; no rates; 30-day trial; replacement listed under a "30-day guarantee", other conditions not stated; "2.5 million professionals" (self-reported). — https://www.index.dev/
and https://www.index.dev/ services - [T27] Proxify pricing page: publishes developer pricing; the page returned HTTP 403 to fetching, so its figures are not repeated here. — https://www.proxify.io/
pricing - [T28] Upwork client pricing and fee pages: publish client fees; the pages returned HTTP 403 to fetching, so their figures are not repeated here. — https://upwork.com/
pricing/ and https://support.upwork.com/client hc/ en-us/ articles/ 26106318334611-Contract-Initiation-Fee - [T29] yousource Dev On Demand pricing: "Single stream: $3,495/mo" ("One task at a time from your backlog, 3-day turnaround"); "Dual stream: $6,795/mo" ("Two tasks in parallel from your backlog, 3-day turnaround"); "3-day turnaround per task, daily async updates"; on hourly billing: "No. Flat monthly subscription". — https://www.you-source.com/
dev-on-demand - [T30] yousource Dev On Demand terms: "Cancel any time. No notice period." "Wrong engineer? We replace them within 5 business days at no charge." "We sign IP assignment up front." "NDA before access." "If we're a fit, your trial task is free." — https://www.you-source.com/
dev-on-demand - [T31] yousource Dev On Demand timing: "Kickoff call within 24 hours, first delivery within 5 business days"; "Async by design: no timezone alignment needed." — https://www.you-source.com/
dev-on-demand - [T32] yousource Dev Team as a Service: "From $3,840 per engineer a month"; "Three-month initial term. Auto-renews."; "Dev On Demand sells tasks, month to month." — https://www.you-source.com/
dev-team - [T33] BLS: "The median annual wage for software developers was $135,980 in May 2025." — https://www.bls.gov/
ooh/ computer-and-information-technology/ software-developers.htm - [T34] HR Dive on Employ's Hiring Benchmarks report, 14 Jan 2026: filling a position took an average of 63.5 days in 2025 (job posting to accepted offer, across the five sectors in Employ's data); software and tech had the lowest offer acceptance rate of those sectors, 80.8%. — https://www.hrdive.com/
news/ hiring-benchmarks-report-employ-2025-more-applicants/ 809604/ - [T37] Lemon.io SaaS hire page (fetched 3 Nov 2026): "from $55/hr"; "a flexible no-risk trial period"; developer on real project tasks "for up to 20 hours"; if it doesn't work out, a replacement at no cost; "You own the IP". — https://lemon.io/
hire/ saas-developers/